Dragon Con, the internationally known pop culture, sci fi, fantasy, and gaming convention, announced the winners of its 3rd annual Dragon Awards, a fan’s choice awards program to recognize the best in books, comics, games, and filmed entertainment.


More than 11,000 fans cast ballots for Dragon Award winners among 94 properties in 15 categories covering the full range of fiction, comics, television, movies, video gaming, and tabletop gaming.  Winners were announced on Sept. 2 at the 32nd annual Dragon Con in downtown Atlanta.

And the winners are …

artemis-excerpt-fb (1)

Best Science Fiction Novel

Artemis by Andy Weir

 Best Fantasy Novel (Including Paranormal)

Oathbringer by Brandon Sanderson

 Best Young Adult / Middle Grade Novel

Children of Blood and Bone by Tomi Adeyemi

 Best Military Science Fiction or Fantasy Novel

A Call to Vengeance by David Weber, Timothy Zahn, and Thomas Pope

 Best Alternate History Novel

Uncharted by Kevin J. Anderson and Sarah A. Hoyt


 Best Media Tie-In Novel

Leia: Princess of Alderaan by Claudia Gray

 Best Horror Novel

Sleeping Beauties by Stephen King and Owen King

 Best Comic Book

Mighty Thor by Jason Aaron and James Harren, Marvel Comics

 Best Graphic Novel

Brandon Sanderson’s White Sand Volume 1 by Brandon Sanderson, Rik Hoskin, and Julius M. Gopez, Dynamite Entertainment


 Best Science Fiction or Fantasy TV Series

Game of Thrones, HBO

 Best Science Fiction or Fantasy Movie

Black Panther directed by Ryan Coogler

 Best Science Fiction or Fantasy PC / Console Game

Middle-earth: Shadow of War by Monolith Productions

 Best Science Fiction or Fantasy Mobile Game

Harry Potter: Hogwarts Mystery by Jam City

 Best Science Fiction or Fantasy Board Game

Red Dragon Inn 6: Villains by Slugfest Games


 Best Science Fiction or Fantasy Miniatures / Collectible Card / Role-Playing Game

Magic: The Gathering Unstable by Wizards of the Coast

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.